Tags

, , , ,

A few years ago, my Nanna (Papa Thorne’s mum) gave my sister and I some jewellery of hers for us to keep, wear and enjoy.  The bracelet that she gave to me had belonged to my great-grandmother (her mother) Josephine, whose name was given to me as my middle name when I was born.  I had put the bracelet away in a box and forgotten about it for some time, but in the last few months I have finally got round to unpacking a few boxes of keepsakes that had been knocking around since a series of house moves last year.

It wasn’t in great shape, a little tarnished and in need of a serious clean, so I took it down to my local jeweller who gave it some much-needed TLC.  When I went to collect it just over a week later, I could hardly believe it was the same piece.

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

josephine's bracelet 2

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

I have been wearing it ever since – I promised the jeweller I would look after it and not let it get into a state again – and smile every time I look at it.  Such a beautiful heirloom, with such a personal connection.  I feel like a very lucky lady.

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

