Tags

, , , , ,

“They can break your arm, swans”

For Christmas last year, Mama Thorne was kind enough to give me a day-long photography course with wildlife photographer Iain Green, who happens to live near to her in Gloucestershire.    Given that I chose to take the course in early spring, Iain decided that the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust centre at Slimbridge was the best place to head for the day, to guarantee readily available subject matter!  I learned so much in a relatively short space of time so wanted to share some of my work with you.  First up: SWANS.  I’m sure I’m not the only person who is a little bit scared of them, but their beauty is so plain to see.  Swans are also a technically challenging subject matter, as their very white feathers are hard to capture in detail.  Here are some of my highlights:

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

 Hiding out in the hides waiting for sightings was surprisingly exciting.  I understand a bit more how people have the patience for birdwatching now.

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

Thank goodness for zoom, mercifully I didn’t have to get up too close!

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

This guy couldn’t resist showing off…

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

…  Whilst this guy was just coming in to land.

