Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ah, awards season.  The speculation, the controversy over the host’s jokes, and of course, the frocks.  It always really fascinates me to see what outfits people choose to rate, and indeed hate, especially when opinion is wildly divided.  To the best of my ability, I have avoided ‘hit and miss’ lists so far, so that I could form my own opinions about which were success and which were, well, less so.  But of course, once I have hit the ‘publish’ button, I will be checking out other people’s  best-dressed lists straight away!

(L-R: Julia Stiles and Eva Longoria.  Images courtesy of Harper’s Bazaar and Zimbio)

First up, looking gorgeous in black, here is Eva Longoria in Zac Posen, and Julia Stiles in Romona Keveza.  I love the cut of the neckline of Eva’s dress, and I think that Julia carries off the one-shouldered look beautifully.  Pink lips and feminine curls means that the colour does not look too harsh against her perfect pale skin!

(L-R: Natalie Portman and Jane Krakowski.  Images courtesy of Harper’s Bazaar.)

Over to Natalie Portman (in Viktor and Rolf) and Jane Krakowski (Badgley Mischka) now, flying the flag for ‘glamorous ladies with child 2011’.  Natalie looked fresh-faced in draped pink with rose detail (and yet another pink lip) and a sleek up-do, whilst Jane positively glowed in a muted blue one-shouldered number with perfect Hollywood hair.

(L-R: Angelina Jolie and Mila Kunis.  Images courtesy of Harper’s Bazaar.)

Emerald green was a key colour for gowns this year.  As well as Angelina Jolie (Versace) and Mila Kunis (Vera Wang) (pictured above), Catherine Zeta-Jones and Elisabeth Moss crossed over to the green side, but the two above are definitely my favourite.  I am not as keen on Angelina’s frock from the back, but I love the neckline and the nipped in waist.  Plus, the sparkly fabric could have looked so tacky, but Ms Jolie manages to make it look anything but.  With yet another one-shouldered gown making my top picks list, Mila Kunis’ beautifully textured gown sets off her skin-tone perfectly.

(Anne Hathaway.  Image courtesy of Harper’s Bazaar.)

As I have made very clear in the last week, I am a big fan of Anne Hathaway, and I was totally blown away by her bronze Giorgio Armani Privé gown.  I have sometimes felt that Anne has chosen gowns for award ceremonies that have made her look older than she is, but am happy to report that this frock is spot on, with the colour showcasing her porcelain complexion at it’s best.

(L-R: Carrie Underwood and Dianna Argon.  Images courtesy of Harper’s Bazaar.)

Next, onto Carrie Underwood and Dianna Argon. I am in love with Dianna’s perfect curls, and like how she has chosen a berry-coloured lip to warm up the neutral palette of her J. Mendel gown, whilst Carrie has chosen to keep accessories to a minimum, letting her stunning Badgley Mischka dress and Swarovski clutch do all the talking.

(Christina Hendricks.  Image courtesy of Harper’s Bazaar.)

My final favourite frock goes to Christina Hendricks, who like Julia Stiles, chose a one-shouldered Romona Keveza number.  Instead of black, Christina went for stunning scarlet, and looks every inch the old-school Hollywood starlet with her killer curves and subtly wavy locks.

(L-R: Halle Berry, Sandra Bullock and Olivia Wilde.  Images courtesy of StyleiteHarper’s Bazaar and Go Fug Yourself)

For makeup, hair and shoes, I believe special mention should go to Halle Berry, Sandra Bullock and Olivia Wilde respectively.  I think Halle’s elfin haircut suits her much better than when she wears it long, and her smoky eye make-up and pale lip  looks hugely glamorous without being too ‘done’.  Meanwhile, Sandra Bullock’s heavy blunt fringe looks just fabulous, and frames her strong features perfectly.  Finally, Olivia Wilde’s Louboutin’s have kicked their way straight to the top of my ‘impractical-shoes-that-I-want’ list, although I am still trying to work out just how I could make those work in the office everyday!

And if I had to give a sartorial nod to the guys I’d have wanted on my arm as my date for the evening?  I think I’d have to hand it to Jim Parsons, or Jake Gyllenhaal – great job, boys!

