Tags

, , , , ,

I was always under the impression that the 1990s were a fashion decade to forget.  My main memories were of leggings with everything, lurid florals, and this one anorak that seemed to grow with me for years, that contained every colour of the rainbow in an incredible geometric print.  But then along comes the beautiful Anne Hathaway and proves me wrong.  I am a big fan of Ms. Hathaway, having loved her parts in The Devil Wears Prada, Valentine’s Day and Rachel Getting Married, and am happy to report that Love And Other Drugs doesn’t let the lady down in terms of its strength as a film.

But it was the way Anne wore her 90s get-up that took me by surprise, as so many of her outfits were so damn wearable.  I was a child, dressed by mother for most of the 1990s, so I suppose it is entirely possible that the easier-to-wear, classic looks the decade produced passed me by.   Perhaps it would have been distracting if the wardrobe was too stereotypically dated.  Nonetheless, whether artistic licence was exercised during the assembly of Anne’s wardrobe or not, here are a few of my highlights:

Image HERE

You’d be a brave man/lady to bet that denim is in danger of going out of fashion any time soon, but the need for variety in the trend means that older looks are always being revisited.  Skinny is still the unstoppable style du jour, but I’ve noticed a few different washes and colours popping up, especially at Uniqlo and American Apparel.  Set off with a simple vest top, this particular outift lets the colour of the jeans do the talking.  Also, I want the retro phone!

Image HERE

As well as being a totally cute scene in the movie, I love the ensemble Anne is wearing in the above shot.  Crisp white shirt?  Check.  Classic school blazer?  Check.  Neutral tailored trousers?  Check.  Excellent old-school headphones?  Also check (although only just visible in this shot, due to Anne’s amazing hair).

Image HERE

It being winter and all, I’m getting some serious sweater-envy looking at the above picture right now.  Chunky knits are a winter staple, and the oversized cuffs and neck stops the Arran patter from looking too old-fashioned.  To bring the look up to date, dark skinny jeans or shorts with patterned tights and shearling boots would look slightly more on-trend than a good old pair of stonewashed denims!

What totally set off the above looks for me though, was how beautifully undone Hathaway’s hair and makeup were throughout the film.  Relaxed curls with scrubbed-clean skin polished off the carefree artist vibe perfectly, and I’m mostly jealous I could never carry it off myself!

Of course, it wouldn’t be fair to ignore the gorgeous Jake Gyllenhaal, and the sartorial contribution he makes to the film.  Nice Wayfarers, Jake!

Image HERE

 

