Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Given that the snow has now gone in my part of the world – although not before it got really rather icy and slippery – I thought I would post some photographs that I took on Saturday, December 18th to remind us how pretty it was at one time.  I am fortunate to live in a relatively rural area so when I woke up to a (comparatively) light covering of snow that day, I pulled on my wellies and as many layers as possible and headed out on foot.

Chocolate-box house:

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

Snow-covered holly bushes, with a cheeky garden shed in the background:

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

I like postboxes sunken into walls.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

‘Keep Out’:

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

Church gate at St. Paul’s, The Hacket:

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

What I love about snow is the way that it deadens ambient sound in your vicinity.  I wandered around for over an hour and felt – aside from a few dog-walkers – totally alone.  Of course, my rose-tinted view of all the beauty dissipated somewhat once my road became an ice-rink and my Christmas plans had to be altered because of the conditions, but I think these shots serve as a pleasant reminder all the same.  I am slightly concerned that, as I write this, the weather forecast predicts snow again later this week, but I am keeping my fingers crossed for minimal disruption this time!

