Tags

, , , , , ,

Sunday snapshot actually comes to you (relatively) bright and early this week, as I am off being sociable later, so thought I would make this feature one of the first tasks for the day, rather than one of the last.  The last week (well, just over a week) has incorporated Christmas celebration, so seeing as I haven’t got round to sharing with you the best bits of my festive period yet I thought I would take this opportunity to share a selection of photographs and highlights with you.

*  Spending my first ever Christmas with Dan.  We have been together for three-and-a-half years, but have always chosen to do our own thing during the festive period previously.  This year however, now that we live together, we decided it was time to team up!  Incredibly, despite our large (read: dysfunctional) families, we managed to fit everybody in over the Christmas period.  No mean feat, I can assure you.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  The traditional Christmas Eve pub trip, where you spend all evening either catching up with people you don’t see from one Christmas Eve to the next or queuing at the bar.  All the same, I can’t think of a better way to start the Christmas holiday!

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  Still having  a stocking from my mum, despite being 23 and no longer living at home.

*  Getting to spend time at Christmas with an actual child – Christmas is all about kids really, isn’t it?  This guy is Dan’s nephew who is, aged three, already a heartbreaker and camera-lover.  After every shot of him, he would cry “let me see!”, point at the digital display and proudly yell, “it’s me!”

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  Three visits to the Mezze at the Royal George in one week

*  Being totally and utterly spoiled with lots of beautiful, thoughtful gifts.  Below is a shot of a home-made hamper created by my amazing sister for Daniel and I.  As a broke fresher, she excelled in the creativity stakes by being the only student I know to make her own chutney and stink out her student kitchen not with the smell of Pot Noodles or festering takeaways, but with pickling vinegar as she preserved onions in pretty jars.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  Speaking of Little Sister, a picture of her looking as though she’s in an oversized gift bag always goes down a treat.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  Christmas food, of course.  I took what I believe to be a well-deserved break from my weight-loss plan to just enjoy the festivities and the inevitable food coma that comes with it.  Having been to my post-Christmas weigh-in on Thursday, I can confirm that damage was not extensive, and is expected to be repaired in the coming week or two.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  Christmas Day II, otherwise known as Boxing Day.  Basically, an opportunity to do it all again, with different people, in a different place, just a day after you’ve done it all already.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  The traditional trip to the pub that Christmas Day II must ALWAYS involve, this year in treacherous ice and snow!

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

*  Spending New Year’s Eve with a small group of friends playing drinking games, eating crisps and Roses chocolates and, by and large, choosing not to be overtaken by the dreaded new year hype.

Despite it only being January 2nd, my house is already back to normal, with the Christmas decorations and gifts having been packed away yesterday.  Like Jen, over at a little bird told me, as soon as the new year arrives I am keen to get rid of Christmas and it’s associated paraphernalia.  I have never been one for resolutions and the like, but I do feel that a  new year should start with a clean and tidy house.

 

