Tags

, , , , ,

A little while ago I surprised Alan by agreeing at very short notice (he always laments my lack of spontaneity) to head into Bristol on a Monday evening so we could mess around with some shots in the dark.  For (hopefully) obvious reasons, we had been waiting for a clear night for my second informal photography lesson, and although absolutely freezing, this particular Monday fitted the bill perfectly.  I learned a little bit more about exposures and apertures, and got to use a tripod and a cable release for the first time.  I also got to enjoy experiencing the busiest shopping area of Bristol almost totally deserted, save for a few cinemagoers, security guards and two guys in a car who called us a word far too crude to repeat on here (I’m still wondering why).

© Naomi Thorne, 2010. Cabot Circus external, BS1.

I was strangely fixated on the little red man and bike symbol at the pedestrian crossing.  They gave off quite a strong glow!

© Naomi Thorne, 2010. Cabot Circus external, BS1.

The blue lights on the outside of the Showcase cinema are really rather striking, and I like the helter-skelter turquoise of the multi-storey car park in the background:

© Naomi Thorne, 2010. Cabot Circus external, BS1.

Apparently oversized neon reindeer are the only way to herald the arrival of Christmas in Bristol.  They looked amazing stood all alone in the precinct at night, like they had taken over the shopping for themselves.  I liked how the reflection made this guy look like he’d just found his long-lost twin – or is my imagination overactive?

© Naomi Thorne, 2010. Cabot Circus internal, reindeer reflection.

Guilty conscience that I have, I thought the two ladies stood by the reindeer in the shot below were coming to reprimand us when they approached us clutching a mobile phone.  Turns out they just wanted a picture taken!

© Naomi Thorne, 2010.

Guarding Bristol’s festive cheer since 2008…

© Naomi Thorne, 2010.

This last shot was taken by Alan himself, and is extremely rare in that it is a photograph taken of me that I actually like.  I promise you I was not being deliberately moody-posey, I was most likely fiddling with my camera/trying to operate a mobile phone wearing fleecy mittens/untangling all my bag straps.  Honest.

 

© Alan Tansley, 2010

It took nearly an hour of being wrapped up in a duvet back at home before I was warmed through enough to get to sleep.

