Tags

, , , ,

Being the jetsetter that I am, I was lucky enough to be able to enjoy another weekend away recently, this time on my own with mucker from uni Lois.  I hadn’t been to Oxford since I was quite small, so it was really lovely to spend some time there and of course to get a bit more practice with the camera.  The photos aren’t great, but I am still learning, and I was keen not to embarrass Lois too much by doing too much tourist-esque loitering within the grounds of her own university.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

The ubiquitous cyclist shot.  Even driving into the city at 10pm on a Friday night, it was cyclist central.  I’d love to get a beach cruiser bike, strap a sound-system onto it and just cruise around pretending I was in California.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

This guy guards the Bodleian Library.  Love his ‘tache…

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

Lois studies at Corpus Christi college, which is almost totally dwarfed by Christchurch College; they have their own cathedral and everything.  So blasé is Lois to the wonders contained within Oxford that she skipped over the tomb of John Locke, before looking back and going “oh yeah, John Locke”.  I didn’t join in with the tourists pretending to sing from the hymnals whilst they had their picture taken, but I did manage to get a few shots of the stained glass windows, which I have always been fascinated with:

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

Call me biased, but I did love Corpus Christi most of all.  It had a ‘cosier’ vibe than the other colleges, possibly because it’s one of the smaller ones.  I could just imagine losing myself in a book of translations in the garden on a summer’s afternoon, or something like that.

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

Plus, Corpus has a statue of a pelican in one of the quads.  Can’t beat a pelican!

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

Of course, it being Lois and I together for a few days, there was always going to be a movie marathon in there somewhere, and sure enough, we managed to get through Mallrats, I Love You, Man and Superbad all in one night.  It’s nice to know that, even though we have taken different paths since graduation, some things are never going to change.  All I’d have needed was to stay up all night to finish an essay, and it would have been just like the ‘old’ days.

