Tags

, , , , ,

So, over the weekend Dan and I headed to the big smoke to catch up with some friends and see a show.  The performance in question was Phantom of the Opera which I will admit was not my cup of tea, but entertained me all the same in its own way.  Slightly overcooked musicals aside, what was truly lovely was the opportunity to spend a night away from home in a nice hotel and eating good food in excellent company.  We stayed at the Stafford Hotel in St. James’, which was beyond beautiful, with very friendly staff and impeccable service.  I’m a sucker for a hotel bathroom; check this bad boy out!

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

 

The bath was at floor level, which gave a discernible feeling of luxury, even though ultimately it’s just a normal bath a bit lower down in the bathroom.  All the same, it made reading the paper in the bath a darn sight easier than it usually is!  Reports from Dan imply that the shower was also bang tidy, although I didn’t get the chance to try it.  The bed in our room was pretty impressive too:

 

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

 

After the show, as we were heading back through the heart of London in search of a restaurant, we bumped into the 2010 London Zombie Walk on the rampage.  It was probably the most polite gathering of zombies I’ve ever seen; at one point a man carrying a small child wanted to get through the crowd, and a whole bunch of the undead stopped dead (haha) to allow him to pass immediately.  Their makeup and costumes were pretty incredible too, I hope they all had fun!

 

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

 

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

 

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

 

Of course, even in my current drive to shift a few pounds, a weekend away was always going to mean some time being dedicated to eating out.  We enjoyed a beautiful Thai meal at The Mango Tree in Belgravia on Saturday night, and then a quality pub lunch at The Sands End in Fulham on Sunday, home of the best scotch eggs ever:

 

© Naomi Thorne, 2010

 

Having had a day off yesterday as well, by the time I headed back to work today I felt as though I had been away for far more than just three days!  Many thanks to Abby, Tom, Pippa and James for their lovely company (special credit to James actually, who joined us for lunch and a pint despite a very bad back!) and also to Dan for spoiling me, even if I did laugh at his choice of musical.

