Tags

, , , ,

This post should probably start with some sort of disclaimer: there’s going to be a picture of sans makeup coming up shortly.  If you are of a nervous disposition, maybe you might like to look at some of my other posts instead?

If you are still here, then fantastic.  My interest in and support for Rachel and Amy’s Nature Made Us Beautiful campaign continues with my acceptance of their second blogger challenge: ‘Who Needs Make-up?’  The task itself is fairly straightforward – take a picture or make a video of yourself without makeup/removing your makeup – but it is the idea of posting it for others to see that takes the guts.  I actually go without make-up quite frequently: when having friends over to chill out in the evenings, when going to the gym, the supermarket or running errands, or even sometimes when going to work for my short Saturday morning shift, but it never quite feels ‘right’.  I feel a little undone, not quite as polished, even not quite as professional.  Yet my wearing of carefully-selected products does not actually improve my ability to do my job, run as fast on the treadmill or choose the right food for the week, it just makes me think it does.

So, here we are.  This is me, with my face as nature intended.  Zits ‘n’ all:

© Naomi Thorne, 2011

Aside from putting the two images together (using Paint – I am SO high-tech), I have not altered these photos in any way.  They were taken in the best natural light I could manage, using the magical self-timer.  And you know what?  It’s not as bad as I had feared.  I always feel a bit awkward in front of the camera rather than behind it, but overcame this for such a great blogger challenge.  Keep ‘em coming, girls!

Nature Made Us Beautiful can be found on tumblr, twitter and Facebook – go check them out!

